I am thrilled to be sharing my review of The Hunter by Kerrigan Byrne, which is the second book in the Victorian Rebels series.

They’re rebels, scoundrels, and blackguards—dark, dashing men on the wrong side of the law. But for the proper Victorian-era ladies who love them, a hint of danger only makes their hearts beat faster…

A scandalous proposal.

As one of London’t most elite hunters, Christopher Argent never misses his mark and always gets his man. But when his latest target turns out to be a woman—the popular, and stunningly beautiful, actress Millie LeCour—it turns his whole world upside-down. Overwhelmed by the heat that simmers between them, Christopher can’t complete his mission. On the contrary, he’ll do anything to save Millie’s life—even if it means risking his own…

A dangerous passion…

When she learns what Christopher was hired to do, Millie is torn between the fear in her heart and the fire in her soul. Putting herself in this dangerous man’s arms may be her only path to safety—but giving in to her desire may be the deadliest mistake she’s ever made. With both of their lives in jeopardy, Millie and Christopher must learn to trust the real feelings they’re hiding—to find the true love they’re looking for…

Review

Rating 💖💖💖💖

Firstly, just look at that cover!!!! 👀

My gawd, it’s seriously stunning!!😍🔥

Deliciously dark with ramped-up emotion full of unrequited lust and sinfully evocative!

After reading The Highwayman, I was instantly intrigued by Argent, that very brief ‘meeting’ hinted at a mysterious and complex man, I had this feeling he would drag me through emotional hell and back!

And I was right!

The Hunter was just as edgy as I imagined it would be, though I hate to say this, but I do think that this lacked the magic of the first book.

Christopher Agent is one hell of a beast of a man, born within the very fires of hell, literally!

Born in Newgate Prison where he grew up and spent the best part of his life, when his mother was brutally murdered right before his eyes, he was then sent to the men’s side of the prison, which is where he meets Dorian Blackwell and his little band of brothers. They cemented their friendship and loyalty to each other in that brutal place, a loyalty that stayed with them right into adulthood where they worked together to take over the underworld to create the brutal reputations of devils from hell they now hold.

Now at the top of his game, he is a killer for hire, when he receives his latest job he treats it like any other, a quick in and out do the job leaves no trace collect his money, simple!

Not quite!

It just happens that his latest victim actress; Millie LeCour is the one person who can dismantle his solid built wall, he is intoxicated with her and in a twist of fate ends up protecting the enigmatic Millie and in doing so opens doors to places he never thought existed.

Argent is a quietly complex and alluring man, hardened from his past, a master of living in shadows and wreaking vengeance on those who abused him. A monosyllabic assassin with morals, deadly lethal in what he does. A deep hollowed-out shell of the innocent child we first met.

Oh aye, he’s gorgeous! Heart-stoppingly, weak at the knees melted in a pool on the floor gorgeous. As sexy as hell, flames and volcanic larvae followed in his wake. A bringer of death, raw brutal rage, haunted, cold and soulless eyes and a soul forged in iron! Believe me, no one would call this man charming, he may look like a golden angel fallen to earth, but he is seriously damaged – Lucifer himself runs in the opposite direction to this man.

Don’t get me wrong I have always preferred my heroes to have darkness, an edge something different than the typical historical hero, but this man is pure deathly steel that even I was shocked by his darkness – but I still tingled with delight whenever he took his shirt off!

Yes, I am that shallow, LOL!🤣

Christopher is easily the most broken, raw-edged, violently volatile explosive hero I have ever come across in a book. Hee maybe fire and brimstone but he shattered my heart for a man who has never laughed, never been shown kindness, never loved, never felt passion that wasn’t purchased, doesn’t understand emotions and is so utterly captivating in his dark and flickers of light!

I loved the blossoming romance between Christopher and Millie, it’s not what I expected but it’s beautiful though it does take a heck of a long time for the frozen earth to thaw beneath their feet to allow them to move forward. Maybe too long!

But this man has had no gentleness in his life, he doesn’t know happiness love, or compassion. He needs to learn and understand why his heart always hammers in her presence, why she is always on his mind, beneath his skin, and why he becomes a beast whenever not with her, it’s a learning curve for him and that alone stole my breath away!

Yet the relationship he has with Millie’s son; Jakob is beautiful, he shows that hidden gentleness with the boy that no ones dare believe. The brutal, large assassin shares stories, sings songs and becomes a father figure for the lonely little boy!

The journey for him and Millie isn’t easy though, not only have they tentatively healed Argent’s deeply scarred mind and body, work through the fact that the complex man went from trying to assassinate her to vowing to protect her – I said he was complex!

They battle everything, from the outer world; villains, sadist murders, kidnappings and narcissistic aristocrats, then there is the battle surging between them – it’s full on!

I did wonder how on earth these two were ever going to find that glimmer of happiness, but I needn’t have worried as the ending is perfection for them.

As much as I did love this book, (as I said above) it does lack something, it doesn’t have the same magic which The Highwayman and The Duke with the Dragon Tattoo had.

It’s still great, but not out there amazing!

I have been loving this series, but unfortunately at the time of writing this I have yet to lay my hands on any more of the Victorian Rebels *sobs* yes, I know I could just buy the ebooks and read them on Kindle but I don’t want to, plus I don’t read on Kindle as much these days. No, I want – no need for the actual books to have on my bookcase with the three I have, I’ll keep tracking them down, and I will have each Rebel, eventually and when I do watch this space!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.