I am absolutely delighted to be today’s stop on the blog tour for; The Sea Nurses by Kate Eastham. I am incredibly excited to be sharing my review of this heartbreaking book. Thank you to Sarah at BookOuture for the invite to this tour.

The Sea Nurses

The young nurse ran across the wooden deck, her feet skidding. She spotted an injured young man clinging to the ship’s rail, his eyes wide with terror. She could see the water rushing up to meet them. ‘We need to jump!’ she screamed. In that moment, a wave washed over them. She lunged forward to grab his hand, but she was a second too slow. Somewhere, deep inside the vessel, came a loud crack. The hospital ship was breaking apart…

1914. Evie Munro is a Scottish fisher girl, working the herring season from Wick to Great Yarmouth. For Evie, every day is the same – gutting fish at the docks, shoulder-to-shoulder with her friends, followed by fresh bread, a warm whiskey toddy and an early night. But when Germany declares war on Britain, everything changes.

As her village begins to empty of young men, Evie’s life is marked by a heartbreaking tragedy at home. Her happiness destroyed, she vows to join the war effort as an army nurse, caring for wounded soldiers on the imposing hospital ship Britannic.

But as the war rages on and the ship comes under direct fire, Evie’s courage is put to the ultimate test. Can Evie and the nurses of the HMHS Britannic save the day and heal the patients in their care? Or will her life become one more casualty in Britain’s heroic fight for freedom?

A heartbreaking wartime saga – guaranteed to have you grabbing for the tissues! Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Nancy Revell.

Buy Link: https://geni.us/B09VHDPX1Zsocial

Review

The Sea Nurses is an amazing, compelling, heartbreaking and original story of courage and loss. A wonderful start to what I think is going to be a hard-hitting and addictive series, I can’t wait!

I am in absolute love with this book, for a saga it is incredibly well-paced, I have become rather picky when sagas are concerned as I have started to find them a little too long-winded and slow for my liking but this is entirely different, to me, it didn’t read like a saga it’s punchy and gritty as well as dramatic and heart-breaking raw and emotional.

I have read a lot of WW1 fiction, I mean stacks upon stacks of them and yet this is the first I have read with the story set right in the midst of the Navy, even more so being told via the perspective of the women.

This tells the stories of Evie and her fellow ‘Sea Nurses’ as they leave behind all that they know and do what is needed of them, I was fascinated with her harsh life as a fisher girl, that alone isn’t an easy job she is a strong, hard-working and faithful young woman and when tragedy strikes and the more and more of the local village young men keep leaving to join the war she knows deep down she needs to do more than gut fish. She is heartbroken and she impulsively joins the war effort as a nurse. But her struggles, abilities and her emotions will be tested to the limit.

I thoroughly enjoyed learning about the war life of the HMS Britannic, I never knew that during the war the grand sister ship to the Titanic was converted into a hospital ship. The historical research and descriptive details are second to none, I love it when an author really delves into the past and brings all of what they have gleaned to the forefront of the story, it gives the story compassion and tragic realism.

Overall, an inspiring book which will have you sobbing and feeling in complete awe over what these brave women did, I can’t wait for more!

Author Bio

A change in circumstance meant Kate Eastham made the shift from a career in nursing to being a carer for her partner. Determined to make the most of this new role ‘working from home’ and inspired by an in-depth study of the origins of nursing, she wrote her first novel at the kitchen table. Miss Nightingale’s Nurses was published by Penguin in 2018, closely followed by three more in the series. With her passion for history, Kate aims to make visible the lives of ordinary yet extraordinary women from the past. Her current historical fiction is set during the World Wars and will be published by Bookouture.

Follow here https://twitter.com/eastham_kate

Follow the Tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.