I am thrilled to be today’s stop on the blog tour for; Murder at the Gardens by Lisa Cutts, I am very excited to be sharing my review of this wonderful new book with you all.

About the Book

Murder at the Gardens

Series: Belinda Penhurst #3

A lovely day out takes a dark turn when a complaining customer is found dead… Luckily amateur sleuth Belinda Penshurst is on the scene – and ready to investigate!

Belinda Penshurst has always loved Brabourne Gardens. A keen animal lover, she enjoys walking its winding paths and listening to the excited squeals of schoolchildren encountering the kind of wildlife you don’t normally find in England. So when one of the visitors is found strangled, she’s determined to learn whodunnit – and why.

The victim, Simon Carter, had a reputation for making trouble… But surely that’s not a good enough reason to want him dead. Together with retired detective Harry Powell, Belinda investigates the goings-on behind the scenes, and learns that some of the staff are more savage than the animals.

Is it Estelle Samuels, the anti-social owner, who clearly has something to hide? Or the security guard who takes his job too seriously? Most worrying of all, Belinda’s ex Ivan was there when the body was found, and she’s determined to clear his name. As suspicions swirl, one thing’s for sure: if Belinda keeps following the killer’s tracks, she might find herself in their sights…

Can she sniff out a murderer, before she becomes prey?

A completely unputdownable and charming cozy mystery. Fans of M.C. Beaton, H.Y. Hanna or Emily Organ will love the Belinda Penshurst series!

Buy Link: Amazon: https://geni.us/B09MLY2NQNsocial

Review

Belinda Penshurst is back, and ready for another case!!

Excited happy dance!!!

Murder at the Gardens is the third book in the remarkable Belinda Penshurst Mysteries, this series just keeps getting better and better. I have adored this series from the first book and was instantly hooked. it’s one of those series that has you at the edge of your seat waiting for the next instalment – it’s addictive and you need a yearly fix! If you haven’t read the previous two in the series, don’t worry you can easily read these books as stand-alones, but these stories are so captivating and enjoyable I say go on read them, fill your boots!

This time around budding detective; Belinda and retired police detective Harry are once again thrown into the deadly goings-on at a private zoo. Harry starts his new job as a security guard, an easy-peasy job of checking fences, keeping doors closed making sure none feeds the lions or none steels the rare animals, sound easy right?

Wrong!

Everything that could go wrong, does go wrong. Protestors, children in the lion enclosure, ex’s coming out of the woodwork to cause trouble and oh yeah, a murder. Yup, just a regular day at the zoo!

Walk-in Belinda, who throws herself into the investigation with calming Harry by her side, they have to work together to find the culprit before they kill again – plus trying to figure out why her ex Ivan has suddenly popped back into her life again, does he want a reunion, a second go? Personally speaking, I didn’t take to him from the start!

I love the relationship between Harry and Belinda, they have a brilliant report with each other, it’s fun and full of humour. They get on like a house on fire, two peas in a pod – even though they don’t always read from the same page. They are firm friends – maybe more? They laugh and joke, and solve mysteries as all friends do.

Lisa Cutts has incredibly easily become one of my favourite cosy crime authors, I love her imaginative and feel-good, yet dramatic and gloriously fun writing.

Murder at the Gardens is another brilliant whodunnit, with a great cast of characters, a fabulous plot I loved following Belinda and Harry as they looked through the clues to find the answer – it’s like an episode of Midsummer Murders, it’s cosy, entertaining and incredibly enjoyable.

It’s gripping and addictively good, an absolute must-read!

About the Author

Lisa Cutts is a full-time detective constable investigating murders for a living. When off duty she writes a fictitious version of her day job. She lives and works within the county of Kent with her husband and Labrador.

She is the author of the DC Nina Foster books, Never Forget and Remember, Remember. Never Forgot was longlisted for the Waverton Good Read Award 2013 and the winner of the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award 2014 for Best Thriller. She has also written four books in the East Rise Incident Room series, Mercy Killing, Buried Secrets, Lost Lives and Don’t Trust Him. All four centre around DI Harry Powell and his Major Crime Team battling to solve the latest murders within the county. Currently she is writing the Little Challham mysteries, cosy mysteries set in a fictional village in Kent.

She writes a monthly column, Behind the Tape, for Writing Magazine answering police procedural questions from other writers. In early 2016, she was honoured to become the Patron of Rochester Literature Festival and help establish Murderous Medway, an annual crime fiction festival packed full of amazing author panels. As well as being on BBC Radio 4’s Open Book, Lisa has twice appeared on This Morning to chat about TV crime dramas Broadchurch and Line of Duty.

Social Links

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/lisa.cutts.505/

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/lisa_cutts/

Twitter https://twitter.com/LisaCuttsAuthor

Follow the Tour

Thank you to Sarah at Books on Tour and Bookouture for the invite to this tour.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.