I am absolutely delighted to be a part of this epic Spellbound Books St. Patrick’s Day, book tour with ZooLoos Book Tours, I am very excited to be sharing these books with you over the coming days. Today is my third and final stop on this amazing book tour and I am sharing an exclusive excerpt of the thrilling; Bad Sweet Things by Maria Hoey.

About the Book

Bad Sweet Things by Maria Hoey

Keep your enemies close
But keep your friends closer…

Six women:
Each receive a copy of an old school group photo, in which their own face has been savagely scratched out.
Within a week, two of the women are dead.

Detective Sergeant Tina Bassett:
Known to colleagues as the Hound, she believes both women were murdered by the same person and that someone is intent on killing off the class of 98,

one by one ..

As the death toll rises , DS Bassett finds herself in a desperate race against time, as she delves deeper into the past to help uncover the catalyst to the unfolding rampage in the present.

Will she succeed in stopping a killer hell bent on having their revenge ?

Or will the class of 98 finally pay their price ..

Bad Sweet Things is the new gripping Irish Crime thriller from Maria Hoey, perfect for fans of Jane Casey , Claire McGowan and Claire Allan.

Purchase Links

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bad-Sweet-Things-Maria-Hoey-ebook/dp/B09L4YHP9X

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Bad-Sweet-Things-Maria-Hoey-ebook/dp/B09L4YHP9X

Book Excerpt

Somebody was having a fit of coughing and Tina’s focus returned to Coleman. He had moved on to a report on the impounded packages of heroin and cocaine brought in overnight by a couple of members of the Drug Unit. For a while, Tina concentrated her whole attention, but again her thoughts insisted on straying. This time she found herself thinking of the first time she had met Orla Reid. It had been three years ago, Tina’s second to last day in uniform. She had gone with Garda Sean Dolan, to take Orla’s statement, Orla having requested it be taken in her own home. The door to the apartment had been opened by Orla’s flatmate, a girl called Ursula, who had led them to the small living room where Orla huddled in a corner of the sofa, a red blanket swathing her slight form. That was the first thing Tina noticed about Orla, how tiny she was. Doll-like, in fact, with her elfin features beneath a cloud of dark brown hair. Humungous eyes – light blue but with lashes so thickly dark they looked almost smutty against the pallor of her skin. In comparison, tall, ruddy-complexioned Ursula with her springing strawberry hair seemed almost oversized. Ursula, her eyes on Orla, offered to leave them alone, but Orla had given one swift shake of her head.

Immediately Ursula crossed the room and positioned herself at the far edge of the sofa, primed and ready, thought Tina, like a watchdog. It was not the first time Tina had taken the statement of an alleged rape victim, and aside from it not being taken at the station, the procedure was the same. By prior agreement, Tina had done most of the questioning and couldn’t help but notice that when Dolan put in the odd question, Orla had replied with her eyes on Tina. She’d noticed too that Orla repeatedly covered her mouth with her hand and wondered if it was on account of her teeth. Orla had tiny little teeth, very white but just ever so slightly protuberant. Tina thought they added to her attractiveness, perhaps Orla saw them as a flaw. Beautiful women always found fault with themselves, it was a source of never-ending wonder to Tina. Orla’s statement finished; they had then taken another from Ursula, being the person in whom Orla had first confided the alleged assault. Tina had then advised Orla to attend the nearest Sexual Assault Treatment Unit, knowing however that with eight days having elapsed since the alleged attack, the chances of there being much in the way of forensic evidence to be gathered was pretty minimal. Tina did not say as much to Orla, but Dolan had clearly been thinking the same thing.

“Why did you wait so long before reporting this?” he suddenly demanded.

In fairness, it was a perfectly valid question, one which, were the case to go to court, would certainly be asked there. The trouble was a certain something in Dolan’s tone, some nuance in that single word this. Tina saw the effect it had had on both women. Ursula frowned at Dolan, while Orla’s hand went to mouth once more. And Tina found herself considering that after all, the habit might have nothing to do with the girl’s dislike of her teeth, and more a protective instinct.

“Why do you think?” Ursula had fired reproachfully at Dolan. “She was traumatised, she still is.”

And Orla, her voice dull, said listlessly, “It doesn’t matter Urse, I told you no-one would believe me.”

About the Author

Maria is an author and poet from Dublin, Ireland. Her poetry has appeared in Ireland’s foremost poetry publication, Poetry Ireland. Her short stories have featured in various publications and been shortlisted for a number of awards.

In 2017, Maria’s debut novel, The Last Lost Girl was published by Poolbeg Press, and went on to be shortlisted for the Kate O’Brien Debut Award 2018.

Maria’s second novel, On Bone Bridge was published by Poolbeg in 2018. She has also had a book for children published by Poolbeg in 2019, The Little Book of Irish Saints.

Bad Sweet Things was published in 2021 and listed in the Amazon Kindle Bestseller chart (Irish Crime).

Maria has one daughter, Rebecca, and lives in Portmarnock, Co Dublin, with her husband, Garrett, and their moustachioed cat, Midge.

Follow her at:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lastlostgirl

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/hoeymaria/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MariaHoey

Follow the Tour

A huge thank you to Zoe at Zooloos Book Tours and Spell Bound Books for the invite to this epic tour, do have a look at the other stops on this tour.

Advertisement

2 thoughts on “Bad Sweet Things by Maria Hoey ~ St Patrick’s Day Book Tour.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.