I am delighted to be today’s stop on the blog tour for The Lost Girl of Paris by Jina Bacarr, I am excited to share my review for this gorgeous book with you all. Firstly, thank you to Rachel at Rachels Random Resources for the invite.

About the Book

The Lost Girl in Paris by Jina Bacarr.

Genre: Historical Fiction

I will never forget what the Nazi did to me. Never

1940, Nazi-occupied Paris. A powerful story of love, tragedy and incredible courage, about one woman whose life is ripped apart by war and risks everything to seek justice. Brand new from the bestselling author of The Resistance Girl.

As Nazis patrol the streets of the French capital, Tiena is alone, desperate and on the run. After defending herself against the force of an officer, she must find a new identity in order to survive.

An accidental meeting with members of the Resistance gives her a lifeline, as she is offered the chance to reinvent herself as perfumer Angéline De Cadieux.

However Angéline will never forget what happened to her, and will do everything she can to seek revenge. But vengeance can be a dangerous game, and Angeline can only hide her true identity for so long before her past catches up with her, with some devastating consequences…

Paris, 2003. When the opportunity arises for aspiring journalist Emma Keane to interview world renowned perfumer Madame De Cadieux about her life during World War Two, she is determined to take it. There are secrets from her own family history that she hopes Angéline may be able to help unlock.

But nothing can prepare Emma for Angéline’s story, and one thing is for certain – it will change her own life forever…

An absolutely heartbreaking, unforgettable historical novel of war, sacrifice and survival. Perfect for fans of Suzanne Goldring, Ella Carey and Catherine Hokin.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3BPaYPi

Review

My, oh my! What a book!!

Split between 1940’s Paris and New York in 2003, this tells the powerful story of how two women are so far apart, yet their lives are intricately woven together.

I love how the story split between Tiena’s story in WW2 to Emma’s in 2003, both women’s pasts and present entwine beautifully with the others, the secrets which have been hidden for so long are hard to hear when they do come to light, secrets which have and will change both women’s lives. I really enjoyed how each woman is connected and watching them discover the truth, the writing is exceptionally good, I was hooked it’s the kind of book which compels you to keep reading.

1940’s Paris, follows the story of a young Roma girl called Tiena who must flee after the Nazi’s roll in, after an altercation with an officer she knows she will never be safe as herself so with the help of the resistance she reinvents herself as Angelina Cadiex, the famous perfumer, a move which will change her life in its entirety forever.

2003, New York journalist Emma has a question, there is something she is seeking from the past, from WW2 when she gets the opportunity to interview the world-famous perfumer Madame De Cadieux, a woman who never does interviews, a woman who never speaks about the past but something about Emma makes her say yes if the young woman flies over to Paris.

As Angeline tells her story to both Emma and us the readers there is a crackle of suspense and heartbreak which hangs in the air with every word, what happened to her and what she experienced is dramatic, engrossing and shocking. Once Emma starts hearing what Angeline has to say you can easily see where the story is heading, but the secrets and the truths aren’t revealed until pretty late on in the book which will keep you reading wondering if your assumptions of what is going to happen are right or not.

There are parts of the story which are hard to read, especially on how the Roma’s were treated by the Nazi’s, everyone knows of the atrocities and unspeakable horror of what happened to the Jewish but people tend to either forget or genuinely don’t realise that others were persecuted by the Nazi’s too such as the Roma. It’s not an easy book at times, it’s heartbreaking, shocking and hugely emotional but it tells us a story that needs to be shared with the world.

The Lost Girls of Paris explores some series and sensitive issues which are told in a relatable, compassionate and knowledgable way. It’s completely gripping, it’s a story of love, regrets, secrets, harsh realities, vengeance and survival. It is a beautifully written, heartbreaking, emotional, sensitive and compelling story of family secrets and the fight for survival. I cannot recommend this enough, it’s unforgettable and leaves a mark on the soul.

About the Author

Jina Bacarr is a US-based historical romance author of over 10 previous books. She has been a screenwriter, journalist and news reporter, but now writes full-time and lives in LA. Jina’s novels have been sold in 9 territories.

Social Media Links –

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JinaBacarr.author

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/JinaBacarr

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/jinabacarr/

Newsletter Sign Up Link http://bit.ly/JinaBacarrNewsletter

Bookbub profile https://www.bookbub.com/profile/jina-bacarr


One thought on “The Lost Girl of Paris by Jina Bacarr ~ Blog Tour Review.

  1. I read your review, Frankie, with tears in my eyes. You captured the essence of my story so well and yet also bring a sensitivity that adds a certain depth… spiritual in nature. Thank you so much for reading my story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.