I am delighted to be sharing my review for; The Smuggler’s Daughter by Kerry Barrett with you all today.

About the Book

The Smuggler's Daughter

The Smuggler’s daughter by Kerry Barrett.

Genre: Historical Fiction, Timeslip

1799
Emily Moon lives with her mother in an inn on a clifftop in the darkest reaches of Cornwall. After her father mysteriously disappears, her mother finds solace at the bottom of a bottle, and the only way to keep afloat is to turn a blind eye to the smugglers who send signals from the clifftops. But Emily knows that the smugglers killed her father to ensure his silence, and she will not let his murder go unpunished…

Present day
After a case ends in tragedy, police officer Phoebe Bellingham flees to Cornwall for a summer of respite. But rather than the sunny Cornwall of her dreams, she finds herself on storm-beaten cliffs, surrounded by stories of ghosts and smugglers – and the mysterious Emily Moon, who vanished without a trace over two centuries ago. As rain lashes down around her, Phoebe determines to find the truth behind the rumours – but what she uncovers will put herself in danger too…

A haunting and moving timeslip novel perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter, The Forgotten Village and The Witchfinder’s Sister.

Review

The Smugglers Daughter is a mix of Timeslip Mystery and Historical Fiction, and I rather think that Kerry Barrett has got the merging of the two such different genre’s spot on.

I am a fickle reader when it comes to Time-slip Fiction, I love this genre but there are times where I do get disappointed that I don’t love what I am reading as much as I probably should, but I need not worry about this book. The author has done a wonderful job, the past merging with the present so beautifully.

This book tells the story of two women; Emily in 1799 and Phoebe in the present day. Emily, lives in a little inn on the coast of Cornwall, after her father’s murder her mother decides the only relationship she needs or wants is that of a bottle. Emily finds herself in a precarious position, she witnessed the murder of her father by the smugglers who are currently using their cliff top as a way to send out secret signals, which is the reason why her father was silenced and now her mother has decided to keep quiet while drinking her way through all of the booze in Cornwall it is only Emily who knows the truth and only her who wants vengeance for her father’s death. She wants the answer to her father’s death, why did they kill him? But will her wanting the truth and wanting her fathers killer brought to justice mean trouble for Emily?

Phoebe is currently working in the police and after an incredibly hard case involving a missing girl which has pushed her to places, she would have prefered not to go. Phoebe’s darkened mind into even murkier waters, she know for the sake of her mental health she needs to take a breather and take a stock of her life. She finds herself staying with a friend in Cornwall but when she comes across the mystery of a missing girl called Emily over two hundred years ago in that very part of Cornwall she is intrigued. She starts looking into Emily Moon and what happened to her, but in doing so she finds herself getting dragged further into the deadly waters that are smugglers and history as certain things don’t stay buried forever and soon Phoebe realises that she may just be in danger.

The Smuggler’s Daughter is a brilliant historical mystery with a 21st-century twist, even though the characters are brilliantly portrayed and you instantly feel invested in following their stories the real scene steeler is the setting; the Cornish coast. The author’s rich and vivid descriptions of the area past and present are breathtaking, you can almost smell the sea.

I enjoyed flitting back and forth between the past and the present, it was really interesting watching the two stories entwine together, it’s very cleverly written how these two women’s lives merge into one. I really enjoyed this book, it’s dramatic and entertaining and keep you turning the pages.

The Smuggler’s Daughter is n engaging and atmospheric historical mystery, which looks at how events of the past can impact the future.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.