Hello, Sunshines, I am delighted to be sharing my (mini) review for; The Girl who came home to Cornwall by Emma Burstall. I can’t wait to share this charming book with you all.

About the Book

The Girl Who Came Home To Cornwall by Emma Burstall.

Series: Tremarnock #5

Genre: Contemporary, Women’s Fiction

Escape to the Cornish coast with a new heartwarming Tremarnock novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Philippa Ashley.

The Cornish fishing village of Tremarnock seems to have it all. Charming houses cluster round the harbour where fishermen unload their catch each day. There is a pub, a corner shop and a brilliant restaurant. Everyone knows everyone else and mostly they look out for each other. But throw a stranger – a beautiful stranger – into the mix and all bets are off.

Vivacious Chabela Penhallow is on holiday from Mexico to find out more about her Cornish roots, but rumours soon start to fly. Why has she really come? What is she running from? Is there more to her than meets the eye?

The Girl Who Came Home to Cornwall is an engaging story of love, betrayal, despair, happiness and hope. Suddenly a peaceful seaside village is in turmoil and nothing will ever be quite the same again.

Review

The Girl who came Home to Cornwall is a sweet and heartwarming book, of new starts and friendship.

Despite this being the fifth book in the Tremarnock series and not having read any of the previous books, I found it very easy to fall into the story.

On the outside, this is all about a young woman coming home to Cornwall to start her life a new and shaking things up in a village which I think is a little set in its ways, but don’t be deceived by the cosy and feel-good back blurb, it’s much more dramatic than that.

Chabela the leading lady is a wonderful character, she is a little out of her depth once she arrives in the village. All she wants is to look into her Cornish roots and in the process begins to make little changes. I liked Chebala from the start, like all the characters in the book you feel a real connection to them, each one is very well written and people naturally throughout the book.

The story is engaging and easy to read, its pacing is sound and sure which allows the reader to fall headlong into beautiful Cornwall. I loved the author’s descriptive writing too, I will certainly be reading more from her.

About the Author

Emma is the bestselling author of six novels – Gym and Slimline, Never Close Your Eyes and The Darling Girls, as well as her Cornish series, Tremarnock, The Cornish Guest House and Tremarnock Summer.

She read English at Cambridge University and began her career as a cub reporter on the Western Morning News in Plymouth, later becoming features editor of Woman and Family Circle.

She has also written extensively for national newspapers and women’s magazines including the Guardian, Independent on Sunday, Red, Good Housekeeping and Woman & Home.

She gets by in French and Spanish and works out – occasionally – at her local gym. After walking her youngest to school, you might also spot her jogging in Richmond Park with some friends. Slowly.

Emma lives in South West London with her husband and they have three children.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.