Hello, Sunshines, I am delighted to be sharing my (mini) review for; A Pearl for My Mistress by Annabel Fielding. I can’t wait to share this book with you all.

About the Book

A Pearl for My Mistress by Annabel Fielding

Genre: Historical Fiction

A story of class, scandal and forbidden passions in the shadow of war. Perfect for fans of Iona Grey, Gill Paul and Downtown Abbey.

England, 1934. Hester Blake, an ambitious girl from an industrial Northern town, finds a job as a lady’s maid in a small aristocratic household.

Despite their impressive title and glorious past, the Fitzmartins are crumbling under the pressures of the new century. And in the cold isolation of these new surroundings, Hester ends up hopelessly besotted with her young mistress, Lady Lucy.

Accompanying Lucy on her London Season, Hester is plunged into a heady and decadent world. But hushed whispers of another war swirl beneath the capital…

and soon, Hester finds herself the keeper of some of society’s most dangerous secrets…

Review

A Pearl for my Mistress is a complex, engaging and atmospheric account of a woman who is thrown into the midst of political intrigue, which revolves soundly around the class system of the era.

I have to say I am a big fan of historical fiction but even I wasn’t sure about this book when I first went into reading it. it’s not that’s it’s a bad story, it’s is eloquent and full of raw historical detail, I have to be honest that I have always been into frames of mind about historicals which are too ‘Downton Abbey’ where you have the class system negotiating how you feel about a certain character, the difference here is what happens – something I refuse to go into as it will give way too much of the plot away, but let’s just say it isn’t the Downton Abbey- esque which I originally thought it would be and that alone appealed to me far more.

I Enjoyed A Pearl for my Mistress, I won’t say it’s the easiest book to settle into as it is quite long-winded for my liking and the pacing is a little slower than I would have liked but it is very enjoyable. The author has put in a lot of hard work and extensive research which has created a rich and clever story.

About the Author

Annabel Fielding, having graduated from the University of Arts London with an MA in Public Relations, is a PR assistant by day and a novelist by night. Being a self-professed history geek, she dedicates her free time to obscure biographies, solo travel and tea. She also posts a mix of book reviews and travel photos on her blog at historygeekintown.com. She can also be followed on Twitter as @DearestAnnabel.

2 thoughts on “A Pearl for My Mistress by Annabel Fielding ~ Mini-Review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.