Hello, Sunshines, I am delighted to be today’s stop on the blog tour for; Murder in the Village by Lisa Cutts. I am super excited to be sharing my review of the first book in the wonderful Belinda Penshurst Mystery series, I loved this book and can’t wait to share it with you all.

Firstly, thank you to Sarah at Bookouture for the invite to this tour.

About the Book

Murder in the Village by Lisa Cutts.

Series: A Belinda Penshurst Mystery #1

Genre: Cosy Mystery

Meet Belinda Penshurst. Castle owner, dog lover… crime solver?

Belinda Penshurst loves her home village Little Challham, with its shady lanes, two pubs and weekly market, and she’s determined to keep it peaceful. She may live in Challham Castle but she knows almost everything that goes on under her nose. So when irritable pub landlord Tipper is found dead in his cellar, she’s perfectly placed to investigate.

Retired detective Harry Powell moved to Little Challham for a quiet life. He didn’t expect to be dragged into a murder investigation. But the police don’t seem half as enthusiastic as Belinda about the case, and there are strange things happening in the village. Particularly the number of dogs that have disappeared lately…

Is there a dognapper snaffling schnauzers and luring away Labradors? Is Belinda barking mad to be worried that her brother Marcus was arguing with Tipper on the day he died? Belinda and Harry track down the suspects: the rival landlord, the outraged barmaid, the mysterious man in the black car following dogwalkers around. But are the dogged detectives running out of time to sniff out the killer, before he starts hounding them?

A charming cozy mystery full of laughs and eccentric characters. Fans of M.C. Beaton, H.Y. Hanna and Emily Organ will love the first novel in the Belinda Penshurst series!

Buy Link: Amazon: https://bit.ly/3mb60aM

Review

I love this book!!!

It’s like Midsummer Murders come Vera, with added laughs and brilliantly eccentric characters which include human and canine. Murder in the Village is a fabulous whodunit, which will entertain you for hours at a time from page one you will be fully transported to Little Challham.

Murder in the Village is the instalment of the brand new Belinda Penhurst series and it’s an absolute blinder, it’s a brilliant introduction to what I know is going to be a hugely successful series and I can’t wait to read more. Anyone who loves cosy mysteries then this is the book you need to read!
I liked Belinda, she is a great character; true at times she can be a little tiring/bordering on irritating but I think that only came about because she is pretty outspoken. To be honest, I could relate to her quite a bit, I have a big mouth and tend to speak my mind before actually thinking which has in the past put me in rather embarrassing positions, so I can relate to her in some ways.

I liked the relationship between Harry and Belinda, they are a fun double act. I wouldn’t have initially put them together as a crime-solving partnership as they are pretty different but they just work so well Harry’s reserved quieter nature has a calming effect on Belinda’s stubborn bossiness – though not much, she is quite a force to be reckoned with once she gets the bit between her teeth.

I also like that Belinda and Harry aren’t in the first blooms of youth, they each have a past and living the dream (of sorts) in the prime, something I found very refreshing and I also thought it made the story far more realistic and relatable to the reader.

Anyone who follows the blog will know how much of a dog lover I am, so that aspect of the book alone made me want to read it. In little Challham the dogs from the village are going missing – noooo!!! Every dog owner worse nightmare, I am palpitations at the mere thought of evil dognappers. Belinda must find out what is happening and with the murder of the local pup owner there is a lot of uncertainty in her beloved village, which is when she enlists the help of retired police officer Harry, but can they find out who did what and what is happening with the dogs before its too late? (This is where we would have the atmospheric music).

I must note, just as the author notes at the beginning of the book that not dogs were harmed in the book!!

I’ve not read any of Lisa Cutts work before, this certainly won’t be my last I thoroughly enjoyed her witty and writing style which pulled me instantly into the story.

I loved the setting on the outside this is your stereotypical English village, picture-Esque, idyllic where everyone knows each other and their lives story. But all is not what it seems – just like Midsummer, villainous plots and secrets is swirling throughout that will keep you fully engaged.

Murder in the Village is the perfect cosy afternoon whodunnit, it’s fun, light-hearted, charming a definite winner!

About the Author

Lisa Cutts is a full-time detective constable investigating murders for a living. When off duty she writes a fictitious version of her day job. She lives and works within the county of Kent with her husband and Labrador.

She is the author of the DC Nina Foster books, Never Forget and Remember, Remember. Never Forgot was longlisted for the Waverton Good Read Award 2013 and the winner of the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award 2014 for Best Thriller. She has also written four books in the East Rise Incident Room series, Mercy Killing, Buried Secrets, Lost Lives and Don’t Trust Him. All four centre around DI Harry Powell and his Major Crime Team battling to solve the latest murders within the county. Currently she is writing the Little Challham mysteries, cosy mysteries set in a fictional village in Kent.

She writes a monthly column, Behind the Tape, for Writing Magazine answering police procedural questions from other writers. In early 2016, she was honoured to become the Patron of Rochester Literature Festival and help establish Murderous Medway, an annual crime fiction festival packed full of amazing author panels. As well as being on BBC Radio 4’s Open Book, Lisa has twice appeared on This Morning to chat about TV crime dramas Broadchurch and Line of Duty.

Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lisa.cutts.505/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lisa_cutts/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LisaCuttsAuthor


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.