Hello, Sunshines, I have the huge pleasure to be apart of today’s blog tour for; The Tobacconist’s Wife AnneMarie Brear. I can’t wait to share my review with you all, Firstly thank you to Amy at HFVBT for the invite to this tour. Now let’s have a look at the book…

THE TOBACCONIST’S WIFE BY ANNEMARIE BREAR

Publication Date: November 12, 2020

Publisher: Lume Books

Format: Paperback & eBook; 244 pages

Genre: Historical Romance/Victorian

From the bestselling author of The Slum Angel.

Having lost her father, Thea Goodson is alone in the world.

It is true she has a husband, but Ernie is a brutal man, more inclined to use his fists to keep Thea in line than to build on their marriage. And besides, Ernie Goodson has secrets – secrets that even his wife cannot share.

But in Victorian Yorkshire, appearances must be kept up, so Thea goes on powdering her bruises and forcing a smile as she toils in Ernie’s home and tobacco shop. There seems to be no other option.

That is, until a handsome and well-bred stranger arrives to set up shop next door…

Can Thea escape her misery and break from the conventions of society? Or will the clutches of her abusive husband confine her forever?

The Tobacconist’s Wife is the latest book from AnneMarie Brear, the highly acclaimed author of bestselling The Slum Angel. Perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson, Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

AVAILABLE ON AMAZON

Review

This is the first I have read by AnneMarie Brear, which is incredible as I do have a few of her previous books sitting waiting to be read on my kindle shelf, and after reading this beautiful I will definitely be reading them now. I can’t believe it has taken me so long to read one, I have definitely been missing out on something here.

I was instantly drawn to this book, the cover alone made me want to read it, I am a very visual reader and I do like pretty covers. Think of me as a Magpie who collects shiny pretty things, I’m the same with pretty covers. Then there was the back blurb, I loved the sound of it but what especially caught my attention was the last line; ‘Perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson’, Yes, I am a Cookson fan, and finally it is set in my part of the country certainly made it even more appealing to me. I do love a Yorkshire set historical.

When her father passed away, Thea married a man whom she thought was good and kind, but once he had that ring on her finger his true colours showed through and she realised she had made a mistake. She was stuck in a hostile, unhappy marriage with a man who took his frustrations out on her with his fists. He was aggressive, moody and secretive all he wants from her is to be his little live-in slave and when needed to be the biddable little wifey on his arm to show off.

Thea is lonely and living in constant fear of what he will do next, of the neighbours finding out what she lives through, but yet she is determined she will make this marriage work in some way. But when handsome, charming Adam, a wealthy man who wishes to make his own way in the world, moves in next door there is suddenly lightness in her world. Adam gives her just what she is so desperately in need of; true friendship and kindness.

I must add a content warning, this does have some shocking domestic abuse scenes, which some may find unsettling as Thea is treated awfully by her vile husband, but please don’t allow that to put you off reading it as there is much more to the story, there is so much to love and there is happiness. I can’t really say too much as the way this is written even a slightest wrong word from me will give far too much about the plot away, but just know this is well worth a read if you love historical fiction, I would entirely categorise it as a historical romance as there is far more strife than full-blown romance, again I will refer to what it says on the back blurb think Cookson.

The Tobacconist’s Wife is a gentle paced, captivating, emotional, riveting and beautiful book all about survival, second chances and finding true happiness. I love the edgier grittier feel to it, I can only describe this as a proper Victorian historical, it’s not light, sweet and full of sweetmeats and candyfloss there is real meat on the bone.

Blog Tour Schedule

Thursday, November 12; Guest Post at Coffee and Ink / Review at Probably at the Library

Friday, November 13; Review at View from the Birdhouse / Review at Chicks, Rogues, and Scandals

Saturday, November 14; Excerpt at Passages to the Past

Sunday, November 15; Review & Excerpt at Bookworlder

Monday, November 16; Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Tuesday, November 17; Guest Post at Novels Alive

Wednesday, November 18; Review at Novels Alive / Interview at Books & Benches

About The Author

Amazon UK bestseller and award-winning Australian author, AnneMarie Brear has been a life-long reader and started writing in 1997 when her children were small. She has a love of history, of grand old English houses and a fascination of what might have happened beyond their walls.

Her interests include reading, historical research for her novels, watching movies, spending time with family and eating chocolate – not always in that order!

For more information please visit AnneMarie Brear’s website. You can also connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and Goodreads.

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away 2 eBooks of The Tobacconist’s Wife! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

The giveaway is open to US residents only and ends on November 19th. You must be 18 or older to enter.

The Tobacconist’s Wife

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.