Hello, Sunshines, I have the huge pleasure to be today’s stop on this epic blog tour for; A Trace of Deceit by Karen Odden. I am super excited to be sharing my review of this amazing book with you all, firstly I want to say thank you to Amy HFVBT for inviting to this blog tour.

A Trace of Deceit by Karen Odden

Publication Date: December 17, 2019
Publisher: William Morrow
Format: Paperback & eBook; 416 pages

Genre: Historical Mystery/Victorian

From the author of A Dangerous Duet comes the next book in her Victorian mystery series, this time following a daring female painter and the Scotland Yard detective who is investigating her brother’s suspicious death.

A young painter digs beneath the veneer of Victorian London’s art world to learn the truth behind her brother’s murder…

Edwin is dead. That’s what Inspector Matthew Hallam of Scotland Yard tells Annabel Rowe when she discovers him searching her brother’s flat for clues. While the news is shocking, Annabel can’t say it’s wholly unexpected, given Edwin’s past as a dissolute risk-taker and art forger, although he swore he’d reformed. After years spent blaming his reckless behavior for their parents’ deaths, Annabel is now faced with the question of who murdered him—because Edwin’s death was both violent and deliberate. A valuable French painting he’d been restoring for an auction house is missing from his studio: find the painting, find the murderer. But the owner of the artwork claims it was destroyed in a warehouse fire years ago.

As a painter at the prestigious Slade School of Art and as Edwin’s closest relative, Annabel makes the case that she is crucial to Matthew’s investigation. But in their search for the painting, Matthew and Annabel trace a path of deceit and viciousness that reaches far beyond the elegant rooms of the auction house, into an underworld of politics, corruption, and secrets someone will kill to keep.

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound

Praise for A Trace of Deceit

“Odden’s third effort injects a refreshing level of complexity, both in character development and plotting, into what one typically expects to find in historical cozies. This will appeal to fans of Victorian mysteries, as well as those interested in art history.” -Booklist (starred review)

“Odden keenly evokes the physical as well as cultural milieu of Victorian England, and peoples her setting with fully realized and intriguing characters. This book will delight readers who like their mysteries cloaked in well-researched history.” -Publishers Weekly

“…this thrilling, action-packed story [is] an absolute delight to read.” -Historical Novel Society

“Odden’s literary brushstrokes vividly portray the misogyny and gender bias experienced by women in Victorian society, especially a woman battling to exercise her artistic talent. ” -Washington Independent Review of Books

“Fans of Anne Perry, Deanna Rayborn, and Tasha Alexander will root for Karen Odden’s newest heroine, Annabel Rowe—aspiring painter and now amateur sleuth—investigating the murder of her art forger brother. The novel’s a delightful mix of mystery, history, and romance, served with a delicious helping of lush period detail, while chemistry between Annabel and the investigating Scotland Yard detective add spice to the adventure.” -Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

“A darkly thrilling story filled with suspense and secrets, a courageous heroine, an edgy climax, and an atmospheric setting that perfectly captures the underbelly of London’s art world in the Victorian era. A Trace of Deceit is an absolute winner!” -Stefanie Pintoff, Edgar Award winning author

Review

Oooh, I do love a historical fiction mystery and this one is a real doozy, brilliantly written with rich and immersive detail which whisks the reader right back to Victorian London, it glows like a freshly lit gas lantern and stays light throughout at times becoming darker and then brighter all the while you are wondering and thinking. I loved the cast of characters, each of the suspects holds a motive but which of them ‘did it’? That question alone keeps you hooked and guessing.

There are so many reasons why I loved this book, let me count the ways – or reasons..

Set during the Victorian era!

A free spirit and intelligent female lead character!

Mystery, secret deceits, lies!

Ripper Street with a cosy edge!

Enticing and rich history!

Yup, you got it, I loved this one

I loved the sound of A Trace of Deceit the moment I read the back blurb. You know that feeling you get when you see a book and you instantly sense deep down inside that you have to read it? Well, I go that instant thrill and excitement with this, before I had even got my little paws on it, and as it’s the first I have read by Karen Odden, it’s a brilliant introduction to her work. I am completely hooked, I can’t wait to get my hands on more from this talented writer and I will definitely be seeking out the first book.

A Trace of Deceit is a captivating, enthralling and decadently mesmerising mystery, police Inspector Matthew and artist Annabel must team discover who killed Annabel’s brother…well, they don’t initially willingly team up but you will have to read it yourself. As the mystery opens and escalates there are lies and deceits as it says in the title there is deceits entwining throughout the plot, you never know what is coming or in which direction the case will take but it’s a thrilling and exciting journey Annabel and Matthew go on to learn the truth.

I really liked the ‘Art’ element to it, art and history of art is a constant undercurrent which runs through the book. The way art is used to help solve the mystery is both unique and very clever and it makes you look at art in completely different ways.

To me this is a bit of a mix of Agatha Christie meets Ripper Street – I know it’s an odd mix, but I that’s what I got as I read. I have a really soft spot for cosy mysteries and I adore the Victorian era, so add in a great and intriguing plot, marvellous character and a darker edgier feel then you have a bloody great book.

As you may have guessed I thoroughly enjoyed my jaunt inside Karen Odden’s world of intrigue, I loved the freshness and world-building of her writing, I honestly cannot recommend this enough, if you love a classic romp into an old fashion mystery then this is the book you need to read.

About the Author

Karen Odden received her Ph.D. in English literature from New York University and taught at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She has contributed essays and chapters to books and journals, including Studies in the Novel, the Journal of Victorian Culture, and Victorian Crime, Madness, and Sensation; she has written introductions for Barnes and Noble editions of books by Dickens and Trollope; and she edited for the academic journal Victorian Literature and Culture. She freely admits she might be more at home in nineteenth-century London than today, especially when she tries to do anything complicated on her iPhone. Her first novel, A Lady in the Smoke, was a USA Today bestseller and won the New Mexico-Arizona 2016 Book Award for e-Book Fiction. Her second novel, A Dangerous Duet, about a young pianist who stumbles on a notorious crime ring while playing in a Soho music hall in 1870s London, won the New Mexico-Arizona 2019 Book Award for Best Historical Fiction. A Trace of Deceit is her third novel. She resides in Arizona with her family and a ridiculously cute beagle named Rosy.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | BookBub | Goodreads

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, September 7
Review at Books and Backroads
Review at WTF Are You Reading?

Tuesday, September 8
Feature at I’m All About Books

Wednesday, September 9
Review at Hallie Reads

Thursday, September 10
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Friday, September 11
Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Monday, September 14
Review at Pursuing Stacie

Tuesday, September 15
Review at Faery Tales Are Real

Wednesday, September 16
Review at Into the Hall of Books

Thursday, September 17
Review at Novels Alive

Friday, September 18
Review at A Darn Good Read

Saturday, September 19
Review at Nursebookie

Monday, September 21
Review at Books and Zebras

Tuesday, September 22
Review at Passages to the Past

Thursday, September 24
Guest Post at Novels Alive

Friday, September 25
Review at The Lit Bitch

Monday, September 28
Review at Amy’s Booket List
Review at Chicks, Rogues, and Scandals

Tuesday, September 29
Review at Impressions In Ink
Review at Writing the Renaissance

Wednesday, September 30
Review at Probably at the Library
Guest Post at Writing the Renaissance

Thursday, October 1
Excerpt at Books In Their Natural Habitat
Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective

Friday, October 2
Review at Jessica Belmont
Review at Jorie Loves A Story
Review at View from the Birdhouse

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away one paperback copy of A Trace of Deceit! To enter, please use the Gleam form here – A Trace of Deceit

The giveaway is open to US residents only and ends on October 2nd. You must be 18 or older to enter.

4 thoughts on “A Trace Of Deceit by Karen Odden | #BlogTour #Review #ATraceOfDeceit #HFVBTBlogTours | @HFVBT @karen_odden

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.