Hello, Sunshines on this rainy grey day, I have the huge pleasure to be sharing my review of; Katie’s Cornish Kitchen by Rosie Chambers as apart of this blog tour. I am late in posting as my day was supposed to last Friday, but with Wifi issues, I am yet again behind. But, here it is, better late than never, right?

Katie’s Cornish Kitchen by Rosie Chambers

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Publisher: HQ Digital

Format: Ebook, Print, Audio

Kindness, community and cake are all on the menu at Katie’s Cornish Kitchen

Pre-order the new feel-good romance from Rosie Chambers

After the heartbreak of being jilted by her fiancé, Katie Campbell has been mending her broken heart in Bali. She has local restaurant owner and new friend Agatha to thank for providing a listening ear in her moment of need. When Katie confides she’s worried about going back to what’s left of her life in London, Agatha has just the opportunity for Katie – to manage her old café in the beautiful, picturesque village of Perrinby in Cornwall.

Although reopening the café and making it profitable won’t be easy, Katie is determined to make the most of her fresh start. She quickly makes new friends in florist Jay, waitress Talia and handsome neighbour Oscar, and focuses on making the café a welcoming place for the community – from hosting floristry workshops to pizza-making nights and even the local knit-and-natter group. But, with the café under threat from the local property developers circulating just as she’s starting to grow closer to Oscar and finally feeling at home, can Katie find the recipe to make her Cornish Kitchen a success?

Escape to Cornwall in this heartwarming romance – perfect for fans of Julie Caplin, Phillipa Ashley and Debbie Johnson

***

This is a really sweet and uplifting story of second chances, fresh starts and how important good, true friends are to a person just when they need it most. I am a sucker for a second chance story, it’s always so satisfying when all comes well for them in the end and this is no different.

I really liked it, yes it was predictable from the off but, with so much uncertainty in the world we need light, enjoyable good fun and a romantic escape, don’t we?

Katie suffers the worst betrayal, jilted by her no-good fiancé she decided to do what any down on her luck not quite bride to be done and tries to fix the fractured heart in sunnier climes. In Katie’s case, she goes to Bali where she meets an old friend; Agatha who is running her own restaurant out there. Personally, I think this part of the story is a little slow, but still a great opening.

Seeing just how down and vulnerable Katie is Agatha offers her friend the second chance she needs, she offers Katie he opportunity to run her old café in Perinby, which is a beautiful little village in Cornwall. Katie knows this is the fresh start and soon agrees, to be honest, who wouldn’t snatch such a chance up? But, can Katie not only find her feet and allow herself to love and live again but also to make a success of the café?

I was instantly pulled into Katie’s world, in fact, that happened from the cover and back blurb alone. I adore this cover, it is so pretty and striking and it works really well with the story, it fits in with Katie’s adventure perfectly, which is another thing I love, I think that matching the cover with the actual story engages us, readers, even more, it’s a visualisation of what is going to happen in the story – now whether that was purposely done by the art department with this book or it’s just my overactive imagination picking up on things that aren’t there, I don’t know, but blimey it perfect!

I love the close-knit circle of friends that Katie soon collects; Jay, Talia and Oscar are so different, and to be honest, you would never think that such an eclectic group of people could be such good friends but they are and they bring a burst of energy and a little quirkiness to the story, which I really liked and I loved getting to know them as the story unfolds. I do like a strong and eclectic mix of supporting characters, I think that when they are written with such clarity and realism as Jay, Talia and Oscar are, they bring a whole new depth to the story.

Like Rosie’s previous book ‘The Year of Chasing Love‘ this is the perfect feel-good, thoughtful, relaxing weekend read, one that you can settle down on a dull rainy day and just allow yourself to be pulled in and escape whatever is going on in your world for a few blissful hours.

I love Rosie’s writing, she has a really easy to read writing style that makes the reader instantly drawn into her stories. I loved the descriptions of Cornwall, every scene is so beautifully written and so clear you can see Katie’s little café in your mind, it’s like you are falling into Katie’s Cornwall.

Katie’s Cornish Kitchen is an adorable, feel-good, inspiring, hopeful and hugely enjoyable book all about grabbing your future and taking the chance for happiness. The characters are well developed and full of quirky charm. It’s well-paced with sadness and happiness and a few surprises are thrown in for good measure, I thoroughly enjoyed!

This was an Arc copy from the publisher via Netgalley, which I voluntarily reviewed as apart of this blog tour, thank you Sian at HQ.

***

Link

***

About the Author

Rosie Chambers loves writing uplifting, feel-good stories set in sun-filled locations around the world. Her stories are filled with fun, friendship and foodie treats, which Rosie hopes will bring a smile to her readers’ faces.

She’s always in the market for quirky stationery and is never happier than with a pen in one hand and a cup of tea and a chocolate biscuit in the other. A YEAR OF CHASING LOVE is her debut novel.

Find out more about Rosie and her books on Twitter: @RosieCbooks

***

Blog Tour Schedule

4 thoughts on “#BlogTour | Katie’s Cornish Kitchen by Rosie Chambers #KatiesCornishKitchen #Review @RosieCbooks @HQDigital

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.