Hello everyone! I have the huge pleasure to be today’s stop on this mammoth blog tour for the gorgeous; The Last Day In Winter by Shari Low, I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you all, so sit back, grab your cuppa and your tissues and enjoy. 

About the Book

One December wedding. One runaway bride. One winter’s day to bring everyone together again.

Today is meant to be the happiest of Caro’s life. She’s finally going to say ‘I do’ to the man she loves, until her past comes back to haunt her.

Josie will do anything to keep this wedding on track, even if it requires tracking down a runaway bride, keeping the groom in the dark and appeasing a variety of family members.

Stacey has one last chance to tell the one that got away how she feels, she can only hope that he feels the same way.

Cammy just wants to call Caro his wife. He’s ready to settle down with her, she’s the one. But can he get her to realise that marriage doesn’t always end in sadness? That they could live happily-ever-after…

Perfect for fans of Isabelle Broom, Sarah Morgan and Amanda Prowse.

Links

Amazon / Kobo / iBooks / Google Play

***

This was an emotional roller-coaster ride for sure, by the end I felt like completely drained. Have you ever read a book which you loved, but by the end you are not just feeling physically shattered but mentally exhausted. You feel as though you have run a marathon followed by a family funeral, This is one of those books, it is compulsive reading one that as soon as you start, it will keep you turning the pages right until that final page.

What I didn’t realise when I started this book, and it was only when I saw a post on Social Media, that this is actually the third book in the ‘Winter Day’ series, how can I not have known that? Not that it really mattered much, as this read as a stand-alone. I would never have thought there were previous instalments, now that I do know I will definitely be reading the previous two.

I have only recently discovered Shari Low’s work having only read one of her books before this, and I do have to say that I am completely in awe of her writing. She has a talent of taking the reader out of their warm, safe bubble and making them look at human life in its full glory. She writes from the heart and isn’t afraid to tackle to very emotionally fraught subjects that would give another author pause for thought and she does it with the utmost care and respect for the subject and the characters, I love that, her stories are intelligent and sympathetic, they are completely compelling to read and I am really looking forward to reading more from her.

I love how this is written, The Last Day of Winter is told over the course of a couple of days, and it is centre around the wedding of Caro and Cammy, what should be a Fairy-tale December wedding actually turns into something more profound, more shattering and complex, a day that none of the guests, the participants or the readers will be able to forget in a hurry. Caro you could say she is having second thoughts, her secret past and skeletons which she has conveniently hidden in the closet all soon raise their heads and make a grand appearance, which makes Caro wonder if she is doing the right thing, of this is truly what she wants and more then that if it is what the love of her life wants. Cameron (Cammy) wants nothing more than to marry the woman he loves and he will do all in his power to make that happen, only there are a few things not just Caro’s past that starts to stand in their way.

One of them just happens Stacey, old friend of both and she loves Cammy she wants him, she can’t face the fact that he is to marry another, but can she really ruin another woman’s big day and that of the man she says she loves or will she finally see that Cammy isn’t for her and find someone who truly sees her for the vibrant woman’s she is?

Then there is the wedding planner Josie who not only must handle the delicate and rather confused and complex wedding she has found herself planning, but she must sort out other people problems with a huge one hanging over her own head, she must brave the world with a smile and allow herself to be drawn into another’s mess for a short time, but is that the best thing for her to do when she has had the worst news anyone could receive?

As you can gather it is all an emotional train wreck, but each of the characters personal stories and heartache that they must eventually face is so beautifully written, some authors may go above and beyond with the angst and really push each of the characters’ troubles on the readers so it’s weighs heavy but not Ms Low, she has a real gift for centring the reader right in the middle of the story and taking them on a journey through love, friendship, family and heartache, with the utmost care and sensitivity to the subjects portrayed, this is a real winner, it’s an intelligent and brilliantly funny at times.

This is a fascinating look into the complex and sometimes catalyst relationships between family and friends, there are some harsh reminders that life doesn’t always play out as we would like it to and some exceedingly touching moments that will give you a moment to pause for thought about what you have just read.

***

About the Author

Shari lives in Glasgow and writes a weekly opinion column and Book Club page for a well-known newspaper. She is married to a very laid-back guy and has two athletic teenage sons, who think she’s fairly embarrassing, except when they need a lift.

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

***

Blog Tour Schedule

***

Follow Aria

Website: www.ariafiction.com / Twitter: @aria_fiction / Facebook: @ariafiction / Instagram: @ariafiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.