#Blogtour | Silent Night (Detective Iris Locke Series #1) by Geraldine Hogan #SilentNight #Review #DetectiveIrisLocke @gerhogan @ookouture

Posted on

Hello everyone, I have the huge pleasure to be today’s stop on this brilliant blog tour for; Silent Night, which is book one in the new Detective Iris Locke series by Geraldine Hogan, I can’t wait to share my review of this great new crime novel, so sit back, grab a cuppa and enjoy.

She reached into the pram and placed her hands on the cotton blanket. It was still warm. But her smiling, new baby sister, with her wide blue-grey eyes, was gone…’

Twenty five years later, three bodies are found at a ramshackle cottage in the Irish countryside, and Detective Iris Locke is sick to her stomach. The victims are Anna Crowe and her two young children.

Iris has only recently joined the Limerick Murder Squad. Against her father’s advice, she’s working the narrow lanes and green hills of her childhood. Iris still remembers Anna, who was just a small girl when her baby sister was snatched, never to be seen again. It was the one case Iris’ own father never solved, and Iris can’t help but wonder if the two crimes are connected.

She’ll stop at nothing to find Anna justice, but a fire has destroyed almost all the physical evidence, and Limerick is the same small town she remembers: everybody protects their neighbours, and Iris has been away for too long.

Can Iris unpick the lies beneath the surface of her pretty hometown, and catch the most twisted individual of her career, when reopening the old case means reopening old wounds for her team, the rest of the community, and her own father?

Fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons and L.J. Ross won’t want to miss this – the first book in a gripping and unputdownable new crime series.

Amazon / Apple Books / Kobo / Google Play

***

I will be honest and say when I got asked to be apart of this blog tour, I was in two frames of mind whether to or not, I haven’t read a thriller/crime novel for many years and wasn’t sure if I actually still enjoyed reading them. But there was something about this that caught my attention, it was a mixture of it being the first in the series, the intriguing blurb and it having a female leading investigative officer, but I will say that I am so pleased that I accepted because this is great start to what I am sure is going to be a brilliant series.

The story opens with the kidnapping of a baby from her pram, one minute she was there in the garden and the next she was gone, never to be seen again, fast forward twenty-nine years Anna; the older sister of the missing baby is found brutally murdered along with her two children in their own home. The case is assigned to Detective Iris Locke who has retuned to her home town against her fathers better judgment, once she starts delving in to the murder of Anna, Iris soon comes to the conclusion that something isn’t quite right, she thinks that Anna and her children’s brutal murders are in someway connected to the disappearance o Anna’s sister all those years ago. But how could that be?

Iris isn’t pleased with the idea of moving back to her home town of Limmerick, to be working in the very Police station that her father used to run all those years ago. She feels that because she is the daughter of one of the greatest Detectives that Limmerick has seen, she has to work all the harder to prove that she isn’t in the position because of who she is related to but because of her own merit – unfortunately no matter how much she may want to be her own person she is constantly compared to her father, she knows that the others think that she had a helping hand. On top of that she has her own issues, after being undercover for over a years which didn’t end in the best ways for her she is desperate to get back to what she loves; solving crimes but as we know your past usually comes back to bite you.

To be able to solve the triple murder Iris does the thing she would never have done, she goes to her father for help, her father being the very Detective who investigated the baby’s disappearance all those years ago. The more she delves into the pad, the darker and ,murkier the case becomes.

I love how this is written, you follow the case as it goes along, but we get to know the lead characters more during the first half, especially the two leading Investigators; Iris and her Sergeant Ben Slattery, I think that as the series goes along we are going to see their working relationship evolves into what could be a great detective partnership, both characters are so different with their own views and issues and yet they feed off each other to bring the case together, true they may not always agree and that is what makes Locke and Slattery work.

The only thing I will say against this is that it does set off at a very slow pace, it’s really as the reader is getting to know the lead character’s, it does gradually build up as the story progresses but it isn’t until nearing the final that the story and the case really picks up speed and we finally come to a completely eye-opening and thrilling end.

Overall a pretty decent crime story, that is intriguing, imaginative as well as very real, with twist and turns in the case that will keep you guessing as to who did what and why, the story keeps the readers attention right up to the explosive unexpected finale that makes you sit up and go “wow, I didn’t see that coming.” I am definitely looking forward to more from the Iris Locke series, I feel that there is far more Iris Locke then one the author showed in this. Ms Hogan has done a great job at keeping the reader locked into her darkly imaginative and at times disturbing world of Iris Locke.

If you love a crime caper, then this is a must read.

This was a Arc copy via the publisher and Netgalley which I voluntarily reviewed as apart of this blog tour, thank you Kim.

***

Link

***

About the Author

Geraldine Hogan was born in Ireland. She gained an Honors Degree in English Literature and Psychology from Dublin City University and a Postgraduate Degree in Training and Management from University College, Galway. She is an Irish award-winning and bestselling author of four contemporary fiction novels under the pen name Faith Hogan.

Silent Night is her first crime novel, her second is due out in December 2019.

She is currently working on her next novel. She lives in the west of Ireland with her husband, four children and a very busy Labrador named Penny. She’s a writer, reader, enthusiastic dog walker and reluctant jogger – except of course when it is raining!

You can find out more about Geraldine here:

Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter @gerhogan / Instagram

***

Blog Tour Schedule

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.