#BlogTour | Another You by Jane Cable #AnotherYou #Review @JaneCable @SapereBooks

Posted on

Hello my lovely friends, I have the huge pleasure to be todays stop on the amazing Another You by Jane Cable, blog tour, I have been so excited to be sharing this book and my review with you all, this book is stunning, it is mesmerising, easily I my best of the year, it is so haunting yet so beautiful. So, sit back grab a cuppa and enjoy.

A book that will stay with you long after the story ends! Perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Nora Roberts, Lorna Cook and Victoria Connelly.

Sometimes the hardest person to save is yourself…

Marie Johnson fell in love with The Smugglers pub when she first moved to Dorset with her husband, Stephen.

But when Stephen’s wandering eye caused the breakdown of their marriage, and the costs of running the pub started to mount, Marie felt her dreams crashing down around her.

With local celebrations planned for the 60th anniversary of D-Day, Marie is hopeful things will turn around.

But she could never have predicted the ways her life will soon be changed forever.

A charming American soldier walks into Marie’s life, but it becomes clear nothing is really as it seems…

Why is Marie suddenly plagued by headaches? Is her American soldier everything he seems to be?

Or could the D-Day re-enactments be stirring up something from the past…?

ANOTHER YOU is a moving saga of family life in the 21st century which draws on the horrors of combat, both in modern times and the Second World War. It is a heart-warming tale of one woman’s fight to reclaim her identity and discover what really matters to her.

***

What people are saying about Another You.

‘I love the way in which the past story is interwoven with the present, making good use of the stunning landscape of Studland Bay – its history and its beauty. Cable’s writing is fresh and vivid. An evocative and thought-provoking story’ – Rosanna Ley

‘one of those books that you finish, and then can’t stop thinking about. It kept me completely captivated so that once I started reading I couldn’t stop!’ – Single Mother Ahoy Blog

‘a delightful read, very real, romantic without being in any way soppy and with enough mystery and suspense to keep the most demanding reader hooked’ – Beady Jan’s Books Blog

‘a book that’ll continue to haunt you long after you’ve read the last page. Jane Cable has pulled off a remarkable feat of storytelling, mixing past and present, and fantasy and reality … a superb read’ – Claire Dyer

‘Evocative, clever. This is an author that is here to stay. Bravo, loved it!’ – Milly Adams

‘an excellent story, so well told – there’s romance and high drama, and an emotional complexity that makes it a really satisfying read. Every character, no matter how peripheral to the story, is perfectly drawn – and all the dialogue totally authentic and natural’ – Being Anne Blog

‘a story that makes you think, that makes you question your understanding of what you have read and inspires you to want to read on’ – Carol Thomas

‘The past and present cleverly intertwine with a war story set in beautiful Studland Bay, which Cable paints with wonderful, fresh imagery’ – Angela Petch

‘This is an intriguing read from start to finish… It is skilfully written and kept me guessing right to the end. This is that very rare thing – a book that makes you think’ – Susanna Bavin

***

About The Author

Although brought up in Cardiff, Jane Cable now lives in Cornwall and is a full time writer. Another You is a moving saga of family life in the 21st century which draws on the horrors of combat, both in modern times and World War Two as down-trodden Marie fights to reclaim her identity and discover what really matters to her. Jane’s next book, Winter Skies, will be available for pre-order from Sapere Books soon.

Facebook / Website / Twitter / Amazon

***

I have not read a book that has stuck with me as much as this one has, it is hauntingly beautiful, this is a masterstroke of writing, from the opening scene I was hooked, those first pages are a powerful start to a mesmerising and poignant story and it will bring a tear to the eye of even the hardened heart, it is a powerful piece of writing that will pull at the heartstrings and stay with you for a long time.

The story follows Marie, who is trying her best to keep her life turning and moving forward after the breakdown of her marriage, unfortunately for her that is easier said then done as she co-owns The Smugglers Pub with her adulterous, vile husband; Stephen. Their working relationship isn’t that much better then their married one, as he is a bullying and manipulative idiot. Honestly, I have never come across a man that I hated as much I did Stephen. Thankfully, Marie has her son; art student, Jude, on hand even if he does work all the hours in the pub without a single penny, she frets for her son, he has got so much talent as an artist, yet he refuses to leave their little village, she wants him to go out and experience the world, something she never did.

With celebrations of the 60th anniversary of D-Day in full swing The Smuggler pub is busier then ever, Marie is worked off her feet, stressed about the business, about her son and stressed over what her husband is getting up to, she is suddenly plagued with terrible headaches. I love the characters that start immerging that are all connected to D-Day in some way; old Veteran George who turns up with his son; Mark and their dog, I love George, all he wants is a little bit of attention to be able to share his stories. Then there is the mysterious American soldiers; Corbin and Paxton, both vital to the story, especially Corbin who even though we don’t see much of him, he is a such a huge part of the story, but all is not what it seems with either Paxton or Corbin.

Even though Marie is swept off her feet in the premise of a romance, with one of the young men who appear in her life, there is a darkness that surrounds their fling, if you notice I haven’t even named names here that is because I really don’t want to give away too much of the complex plot and subplot, but it is a brilliantly written part of the story, one that will make you catch your breath and will have you looking at people in a different way, as all is never as it appears.

I was fascinated by the premise of this, I was intrigued by it as soon as I read the back blurb, but it did take me by surprise as it wasn’t at all what I first thought it would be and I really loved that surprise quality about it, this is far more then a second chance, moving on romance, it is real emotionally complex and intriguing story that deals with likes of PTSD, domestic abuse and broken families, add in the hint of the paranormal which is as unexpected as it is vital and you have a solid, dramatic, imaginative and moving story.

Overall; Another You is a beautiful, emotional and atmospheric story, that so seamlessly entwines the past with present. Ms Cable has done an astounding job at keeping the reader hooked, the meticulous detail especially of the area is amazing, I can almost hear the waves, the writing is flawless, even though this is the first I have read by Jane Cable, I can instantly see that this is a writer who pours her heart into her writing.

Definitely not a book to be missed, it is breath-taking and hauntingly perfect!

I voluntarily read and reviewed this book as apart of this blog tour, thank you Caiomhe at Sapere Books for my review copy.

***

Link

***

Do check out the other blog’s participating in this blog tour.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour | Another You by Jane Cable #AnotherYou #Review @JaneCable @SapereBooks

    Veronica The Burgeoning Bookshelf said:
    16/08/2019 at 10:10 am

    I loved reading your review. I really enjoyed the book too. It was haunting and memorable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.