Hello my lovely readers! I have the massive pleasure to be todays stop on the brilliant blog tour for the gorgeously funny; Four Weddings and a Festival by Annie Robertson. My goodness this books is so good, I’m telling you now if you love Four Weddings and a Funeral as much as I do, then this book is the book for you.

Four months. Four weddings. One happy ending…?

Lifelong friends and rom-com fans Bea, Lizzie, Hannah and Kat have curled up with Bridget Jones, sobbed at Love, Actually and memorised the script to Notting Hill. They always joked about getting married in one summer – their own Four Weddings – and it seems like this might just be the year . . .

That is, until Bea turns down her boyfriend’s proposal. Is her own Hugh Grant waiting for her amid the champagne and confetti? Can real-life romance ever live up to a Richard Curtis movie?

As the wedding – and festival – season gets into its swing, can all four friends find their happy ever after…?

Raise a glass of champagne and get ready for this summer’s most charming romantic comedy! Perfect for fans of Sophie Ranalds, Mandy Baggot and Sue Roberts

This book!! I am in utter love with it, I knew the moment I set eyes on the title alone that I had to read this book, after all it is inspired and loosely based on one of my whole time favourite films; Four Weddings and a Funeral, and how much do I love that film! Who doesn’t cry at Gareth’s funeral during John Hannah’s recital of Stop the Clocks? or Who doesn’t laugh every time Rowan Atkinson presides over wedding number two? I think you have an idea of just how many time I have watched it and believe me there were moments while reading this book that just screamed that film, so you cannot imagine my utter excitement when I managed to wangle myself a place on this blog tour. Imagine a spinning top which has had too much candy and you get the gist 😉

So, I’ll stop waffling on about Four Weddings and Funeral and actually talk about this book, that’s what your all here for right? So, we have four lifelong friends; Bea, Kat, Lizzie and Hannah, who all have a love of a certain film, as teenagers they made each other a promise that they would all marry in the same summer to have their own ‘Four Weddings’ but hopeful not with the funeral. As the years go by, they still remain the closest of friends, which is quite remarkable on itself as how many of your teenage friends can you say you are still in contact with? And then the unexpected happens Lizzie, Hannah and Kat all become engaged and plan to wed in the same years, so obviously they all start to look at Bea so they can make their little teenage pact a reality- only problem with that is, Bea isn’t sure she want to get married, in fact she isn’t even sure that her Boyfriend; Simon is the man for her.

Just as with the film, love never comes easy, in fact even weddings never come easy as we soon find out as Lizzie, Kat and Hannah prepare to say I do.

Lizzie is besotted with Jack; her intended, they genuinely do love one another and that is so sweet that there is a genuine true love, only problem he is off on tour with his band right after the wedding – Bugger!

Hannah and Remy are an absolute delight, as different as they come but such a beautiful couple, the issue here is Hannah hasn’t told her grandparents that Remy is in fact a woman, well that’s going to be a interesting wedding day, for sure.

Kat is such a tom boy, she doesn’t want fuss and bother, she just wants to say I do, sign the paper and be done with it, but does her betrothed Henry feel the same, in fact does he feel anything?

Then there is our Bea, she is such a ‘Charles’ she becomes stuck in the middle of two men, every girls dream to have two drop-dead gorgeous men fighting over you, right? Well, not so much as their attentions just confuse her mind and her heart, her mind is telling her one thing but her heart is shouting another, but which will she follow? – Let me just say, that when she does decided who she wants to be with, when she finally declare her feelings for him it is such a Four Weddings and a Funeral scene, Richard Curtis couldn’t have written better 😉

Yes, this is a hugely fun, romantic and feel good book, that will have you laughing and crying in equal doses, but for me what really makes it stand out and keeps it head and shoulders above all other books in this genre is the beautiful friendship between the four women, it is so real and relatable, each woman has their own issues and hurdles in life and being true life long friends they stand by each other no matter what. I absolutely love the way that Annie Roberston has written it, you can real sense the connection between the woman, it gives off such a feeling of joy and hope, it’s down to earth, fun writing at it’s very best.

Oh, I do have to mention Aunt Jean, what a hoot!! Oh, she is wonderful, definitely the star of the show for me, she is the kind of aunt that we all want in the family; fun, hugely witty, caring and a little bit eclectic. Every book needs and Aunt Jean in it, she’s brilliant.

Over all, this is the perfect summer light-hearted read. Its heart-warming and witty, there is a real energy in the writing that I found very engaging from the start. I thoroughly enjoyed this, its a wonderful little story that will leaving you smiling….Now, I’m off to re-watch Four Weddings and a Funeral for the millionth time 🙂

This was an Arc copy via the publisher in exchange for an honest review as apart of this blog tour, thank you Kate at Orion.

Four Weddings and a Festival is to be released on 12th July and can be pre-ordered at Amazon.

***

Do check out the other blog’s which are participating in the wonderful blog tour.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.