I have the very great pleasure to be the first stop on the How to Bake a New Beginning by Lucy Knott (one half of the lovely Blossom Twins) blog tour. I will be sharing my review on this wonderfully, uplifting book and I have an exclusive interview with Lucy.

About Lucy

Lucy is a new author her up-and-coming debut How to Bake a New Beginning is a feel-good, heart warming romance about family love and food. She is also a Book, Food, Family and Lifestyle blogger with her twin sister; Kelly who owns the charming Blossom Twins Blog.

Website / Twitter @LucyCKnott / Twitter @TheBlossomTwins / Instagram / Goodreads / Facebook / Pinterest

***

Interview

Frankie Hi Lucy, Congratulation’s on the book! Welcome to Chicks, Rogues and Scandals! Thank you for taking the time to chat with me today.

Firstly, what five words would you use to describe yourself?

Lucy Romantic. Sensitive. Passionate. Dreamer. Creative.

Frankie If you could take a holiday in any era and place, When and where would it be? And Why?

Lucy Ooh I would probably go back to The Beat Generation and the streets of San Francisco. I’d love to hang out with Jack Kerouac and experience a San Francisco night talking the night away and listening to music, then find quaint cafés to write in while drinking lots of coffee.

4Frankie, Can you tell us a little about your latest release? This can be your most recent or up-and-coming release.

Lucy My upcoming release is my debut novel. It’s called ‘How to Bake a New Beginning.’ It follows the journey of three sisters; all at different stages in their lives, all dealing with job struggles, boy troubles and finding the courage to take that next step in their lives and follow their hearts. After losing their beloved Grandpa they travel to Italy and events occur where they must start taking ownership of their feelings and of their dreams and their futures.

Frankie, It really is a wonderful book, who was your childhood hero?

Lucy My childhood hero was professional wrestler Jeff Hardy, one half of the WWE tag team The Hardy Boyz.

Frankie If you could have one of your books made into a film, which book would it be and who would play your lead characters?

Lucy Ooh that would be pretty amazing. I’d love it if this book was made into a movie. Let me think:

Amanda: Britt Robertson / Sabrina: Rachel Bilson. / Louisa: Lily Collins.

Dan: Harry Styles. / Levi: Chris Evans. / Luca: Giulio Berruti.

Blog 1 blog 2

Frankie Wow!! Gorgeous cast, this is a movie I would love to watch. Out of all your work, who is your favourite character and why?

Lucy Hmm, I love all my leading ladies because I feel like they are strong women, yet they have their vulnerable moments. It takes them a minute, but they go after what they want and follow their dreams. They all have good hearts and I love that about them. I do have a soft spot for all my boys too.

Frankie, Where does your inspiration for your books come from?

Lucy My inspiration was very much love and my experiences. I’m a hopeless romantic and just wanted to write a romance that was quite simple, not too much drama, not too much back and forth, just something that focused on love conquering all and that fairy tales can exist. Also, my life in general, things that make me happy, things that I love, like Italy and sisterly bonds. I very much enjoyed writing about those things.

Frankie, What three tips would you pass on to an aspiring author?

Lucy Always believes in yourself.

Don’t compare yourself/your book to others. No one else can write the book that you are writing. Your book is yours, it is special, and you must love it first and foremost and be proud of yourself for writing it.

Write, write, write.

Frankie If you were hosting a dinner party what three people would you invite? (They can be real/fictional, from any era)

Lucy Harry Styles, Sal Paradise (On the Road) and Angela Clark. (I heart series.)

Frankie Oooh, fabulous! I am a big fan of Angela and Alex. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to chat with me today, Lucy. I have just one more cheeky question, just for fun . . . What is your all-time favourite naughty but nice food?

Lucy Eeek I love food, so that’s a tricky one, but probably any and all Italian cakes and biscuits.

Frankie Sound’s good to me, Thank you, Lucy!

***

About the Book

4

Three sisters. One trip to Italy. The chance to change their lives.

Amanda has always taken the role of big sister seriously. She has her life in order; a fantastic job in a great restaurant, a wonderful house and a best friend who’s a Rockstar. But, Amanda’s beginning to realise that her life is missing one monumental piece…

Sabrina is living a high life in LA. Her Instagram is full of lavish parties, and her tweets are brimming with celebrity names, but in reality, she’s stuck behind a desk working for a boss who is determined to make her suffer. Is it time for her to stand up and take charge of her life?

Louisa has always been drowned out by her sister’s successes. As a university drop-out she’s always felt third best. But a chance encounter in a little Italian village may be about to change that…

When their beloved grandfather passes away these sisters are forced to take another look at their lives. These three sisters are about to embark on a journey of self-discovery that could just lead them down a road of romance (with a little help from the kitchen)!

Perfect for fans of Jenny Oliver, Carole Mathews and Lucy Diamond.

How to Bake a New Beginning is to be released on 9th September and can be pre-ordered at Amazon.

***

My Review

This is a wonderful debut from a talented new author, who I am positive is going to go far with her writing career. I found Ms Knott’s writing to be fresh, stylish and full of real passion for the story. I was incredibly interested in this book when I first saw the cover, which is cheerful and eye-catching. I know we should never base our opinions on a cover, but on the word’s inside, but for this one, I couldn’t really help it. The cover is as charming as the word’s within.

This is the story of three completely different sisters, who are all at different stages of their lives and who are still trying to find themselves in such a hectic world. Even though two have great careers they are a little lost with the love side of things, as different as Amanda, Sabrina and Louisa are they are all devoted to their family, they may have gone down different paths but that absolute love for family is the driving force for each of them. As someone who is equally very family-focused, this really rang a bell with me. When their beloved Grandfather suddenly passes away, the sisters are forced to confront some very personal issues. They decide that to really say goodbye to their grandfather they travel to Italy, their trip turns out to be just as emotional as they expected, but in completely different ways. What started out as a farewell to grandpa’s trip, ends up with each of the sisters discovering themselves and learning how to take charge of their lives and more importantly how to love.

Each sister is so different, each has their own views and private heartaches, Amanda the eldest is the one with the real passion for cooking, she is doing what she has always wanted to do and is working as a chef, but beneath that stubborn and protective older sister mask there is heartache, something is missing from her life, now she knows what but can she pluck up the courage to finally grasp it?

Second sister Sabrina is living the high life in LA, to the whole world she is a high-flyer spending night’s out at lavish celebratory parties, and her social media is full of enviable pictures. But really, she is stuck in the office with a boss who wants to make her life hell and suffering her own heartache, she is far from the happy-go-lucky socialite that she present’s herself to be.

And finally, the baby of the family; Louisa after dropping out of university has always felt inferior next to her older and much more confident sisters. She is definitely the one most people can relate to, she has lost her way a little. She appears cocky and out-spoken but beneath the surface, there lies a shy, young woman who is desperate to find her way and I think she has lost a little self-confidence especially while her sisters are around.

This trip to Italy is the chance all three of them never expected but also what they needed, but will they have the courage and take control of their lives?

This is a wonderful holiday read, the relationship between the sisters is very real and relatable, and the love that they share for their family is the driving force of this story. Ms Knot has done a cracking job at engaging the reader with her relatable characters, beautiful setting and wonderful storyline. From page one you are immersed in the sister’s lives, the story and relationships develop and evolve naturally and the story moves along at a brilliant pace.

You can really get a sense of how much this book and story mean to the author, her heart and passion are evident in every scene, and the driving force of the story is absolute family love, this really resonates with me. Another thing I love is how each chapter starts with a recipe, it’s cute and personal and links each chapter together nicely.

This is a delicious book, that you will devour in one bite! (Sorry I couldn’t help the food reference)

This was an ARC copy via the author as a part of this blog tour in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “How to Bake a New Beginning by Lucy Knott : Blog Tour, Review & Exclusive Interview.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.