A Chat With… Author Roxie Cooper

Posted on

Today I have the great pleasure to welcome Contemporary Romance author; Roxie Cooper to Chicks, Rogues and Scandals. So Sit back and lets get to know a little about Roxy…

Roxie was born and bred in Middlesbrough. She’s always had an overactive imagination; she’s that person who listens to your conversations in coffee shops and by the time you leave, she’s created an entire novel out of your life. 

After reading Classics at Newcastle University, she realised she needed a break from studying Latin, Ancient Greek and all that serious stuff, so naturally, she became a dancer in a nightclub (à la Coyote Ugly) for a few years, before going travelling and living in Australia. When she returned, she swapped dancing on a bar, to practising at the Bar, and became a barrister for 7 years. She’s got a thing for wearing wigs and weird costumes, clearly.

It was after constantly being told “Oh! You don’t look like a barrister!” that the idea for her debut novel was born. 

Roxie lives in Yarm, a pretty little market town in the North-East. She’s a bit (lot) obsessed with Prince and spends far too much time watching him on YouTube. Her hobbies include watching musicals, making her hair as big (and blonde) as possible, and wishing she was Buffy the Vampire Slayer. 

She is currently writing her second novel.

Facebook / Twitter @toodletinkbaby / Amazon / Instagram @toodletinkbaby / Goodreads

Frankie Hi Roxie, Welcome to Chicks, Rogues and Scandals! Thank you for taking the time to chat with me today. Firstly, what five words would you use to describe yourself?
Roxie Vivacious, Fiery, Organised, Passionate, Over-thinker
Frankie If you could take a holiday in any era and place, When and where would it be? And Why?
Roxie I’d definitely go New York on the cusp of the 1950s/1960s.  Oh, the CLOTHES!  I’m a HUGE Mad Men fan – not only for the incredible characters, writing and sexiest man ever (Don Draper) – but that whole era just evokes class, glamour and sexy women.  I love everything about it. I’d wear all the dresses, shoes and underwear and sit, drinking cocktails, draped in beautiful jewellery with fabulous hair in fancy hotels all day.
Frankie Oooh, Yes! I agree it was a very sexy and glamorous time. Can you tell us a little about latest release? This can be your most recent or up-and coming release.
Roxie It’s about a girl called Amanda Bentley who comes from a council estate in Teesside.  She’s smart, sassy and doesn’t take any nonsense.  After winning a prestigious pupillage at the best set of Chambers in Newcastle, she’s got one year to prove she’s got what it takes to be offered a tenancy there…but she’s up against her smarmy law school nemesis, Marty Gregg for the top spot.  She also struggles to resist sexy barrister Sid Ryder, who she absolutely cannot go anywhere near if she wants to retain her professional dignity (or potentially risk incurring the wrath of his venomous ex, Clarinda).  But she’s also hiding a very dark secret, which could ruin everything if her colleagues find out about it.  It’s essentially a story about being brave, integrity, fighting the odds and fighting stereotypes.
Frankie That sounds brilliant! Who was your childhood hero?
Roxie I was – and still am – a huge fan of musicals.  I’d watch them constantly as a kid and idolise the women in the films.  I wanted to actually be Maria von Trapp, Truly Scrumptious, Mary Poppins, Sandy Olsson and Baby Houseman.  My ABSOLUTE heroine was Stephanie Zinone from Grease 2 though. She was just THE coolest thing to me!
Frankie If you could have one of your books made into a film, which book would it be and who would play your lead character’s?
Roxie So many readers have messaged me to say they’d love to see The Law of Attraction made into film!  It does have some brilliantly rich characters who would light up on the screen.  I’d love to see someone like Blake Lively in the role of Amanda Bentley (I imagined her when I was writing it – not sure how good her Teesside accent is, though).  In my head, Sid Ryder looks like Josh Holloway (Sawyer from Lost). 
Frankie What a seriously beautiful cast. Out of all your work, who is your favourite character and why?
Roxie My favourite character is probably the lead in my next novel.  She’s called Stephanie Carpenter and she’s a beaut!  I absolutely love creating flawed, complex female characters; ones who aren’t perfect, who say and do the wrong stuff, who think things they ‘shouldn’t’ – their lives are messy, complicated and they always feel like the outsider.  These women are my kind of women.  Stephanie is so beautifully complicated in so many ways – you’ll have to wait to meet her to find out why though.
Frankie She sounds like a fantastic character! Where doe’s your inspiration for your books come from?
Roxie I’m inspired by many things.  A lot of topics and themes in my books are sparked by personal experience. But I particularly enjoy exploring themes of ‘secret emotions’; feeling things when we shouldn’t, and not feeling things when we should (guilt, forbidden love, unrequited love, loyalty, betrayal).
Frankie What three tip’s would you pass on to an aspiring author?
Roxie
  1. Don’t listen to people who say you have to write loads of terrible books before you write a good one.  My debut novel was the first book I ever wrote and the final book isn’t that different to the first draft.  Have faith in your writing. Everyone is different.
  2. DO NOT EDIT AS YOU GO ALONG. You will never finish it. Take enough care with the first draft so that it’s not a complete mess, but don’t dwell over every single sentence.
  3. Never, ever compare yourself to anyone else. If you’ve created a compelling story, people will want to read it.
Frankie Those are brilliant tip’s, Thank you! If you were hosting a dinner party what three people would you invite? (They can be real/fictional, from any era)
Roxie This makes me laugh because I was asked this very question at my scholarship interview (by a High Court Judge) and I’m going to give you the same answer. (They must have approved because they awarded me £14,000!)
George Michael (because he’s my idol), Prince (because I love him more than life) and Lady Gaga (just too many hearty eyes for her).
Frankie Ooh, I like! That would be some dinner party. Thank you, Roxie for taking the time out of your busy schedule to chat with me today, I have just one more cheeky question, just for fun . . . What is your all-time favourite naughty but nice food?
Roxie Fajitas! I could eat them every single day…YUM!
Frankie Mmm! Yum, Thank you!
💜💜💜
Roxie’s book The Law of Attraction is out now and can be found at Amazon.

A fun and sassy tale full of laugh-out-loud antics from the off. 5 stars’ Heat

Amanda Bentley has always dreamed of being a barrister…

But as a platinum blonde bombshell from the wrong side of town, with a perfect tan and sleek high heels, she doesn’t exactly look the part – or fit in with the brash public school boys and cold posh girls of Newcastle Crown Court’s robing room. Amanda’s never been one to back down from a challenge, and so when she wins a prestigious pupillage following law school, she’s determined to make the most of her chance – and make all her dreams come true.

Only three things stand in her way: Sid Ryder – the sexy, irresistible barrister who she absolutely cannot, under any circumstances, sleep with. At all. Marty Gregg – her smarmy law school nemesis, who she’s in direct competition with for the top job. And her big, dark secret that could jeopardise everything she’s worked so hard for.

Who said that following the laws of attraction was going to be easy…?

Perfects for fans of Legally Blonde, Lindsey Kelk and Joanna Bolouri

Laugh-out-loud funny, dramatic in places, fast-paced and fun, this sparkling novel quite literally had me hooked from the first page. I loved all the legal gossip, the back-stabbing and the richly-developed characters and I was routing for Amanda all the way. I downed this novel like my favourite Prosecco!’Sasha Wagstaff

Well, its a 5* from me. What an unforgettable debut’ Samantha Tonge

Couldn’t resist. Its slick and props funny too.’ Alexandra Brown

The Law of Attraction…made me feel all the feels. Thought it was sassy, sexy and smart’ Anna Bell

It’s a fun, feisty and fabulous read, and I can’t wait to see what Roxie will write next.’ Cressida McLaughlin

The Law of Attraction can be purchased at Amazon.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.